Current Students

PhD Students

Precious Affia

Precious Affia

BA (University of Uyo)
MA (University of Manitoba)

Research interests: Sociolinguistics, Language planning, pidgin and creoles and phonology.

Contact

affia689@yorku.ca

Yahya Aljohani

Yahya Aljohani

BA (Taibah University)
MA (Western University)

Research interests: Second Language Acquisition (SLA), Arabic as a second/foreign language, L2 reading acquisition, Writing systems.

Contact

yahya521@yorku.ca

Mahmoud Alqazli

Mahmoud Alqazli

BA (Al Yarmouk University)
MA(University of Huddersfield)
MA (York University)

Research interests: Second/foreign language teaching and learning (TESL/TEFL),written genres and processes of L2 learners especially in health professions educations, English for specific purposes (ESP), Academic writing and Academic literacy, Occupation Specific Language Teaching/Training OSLT.

Contact

malqazli@yorku.ca

Wid Altalhi

Wid Altalhi

BA (King Abdulaziz University)
MA (University of Massachusetts Boston)

Research interests:  English as a foreign language (EFL); English for academic and specific purposes; language, culture, and identity; teachers’ identity; the role of teacher's beliefs in English learning classrooms; reflective teaching; teacher education.

Contact

altalhiw@yorku.ca

Medwin Azadi

Medwin Azadi

BA (Azad University of Tehran)
MA (Osmania University)

Research interests: (Variationist) (socio)linguistics, phon-etics/-ology, writing systems.
Current research focus: Vowel height in Tehran Persian.

Contact

medwin@yorku.ca

Laura Baxter

Laura Baxter

BA (McGill University)
MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: language variation and change, sociolinguistics, sociophonetics, dialectology, historical linguistics. Current research focuses on dialects of Canadian English.

Contact

baxter@yorku.ca
sites.google.com/site/laurabaxter

Gavin Bembridge

Gavin Bembridge

BA & MA (York University)

Research interests:  Distributed Morphology, Verbal Inflection (e.g. the subjunctive), Syntax and its interfaces (pragmatics/semantics), Mood and Modality, Romance (e.g. Spanish, Romanian)

Contact

gavin19@yorku.ca

Catherine Dunn

Catherine Dunn

BA (University of Toronto)
BEd (Ontario Institute for Studies in Education - University of Toronto)
MA (York University)

Research interests: gender and sexual identity in language teaching and learning, TESL/TESOL teacher training, queer theory, social justice in English Language Training (ELT)

Contact

dunnec@yorku.ca

Aya El Sakran

Aya El Sakran

BA (Ajman University)
MA (University of Salford)

Research Interests: Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL), Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL), English for Academic Purposes (EAP), Academic Writing, learning transfer and feedback.

Contact

aya2019@yorku.ca

Mohammad Falhasiri

Mohammad Falhasiri

BA (Shiraz Azad University)
MA (Isfahad University)

Research interests: Written corrective feedback, Technology mediated language teaching and learning, Content based language teaching and learning, TESOL teacher education, writing development, and English for Academic and specific purposes.

Contact

mo1985@yorku.ca

Yvette Freake

Yvette Freake

BA (Memorial University of Newfoundland)
MA (York University)

Research Interests: Language Attitudes and Ideologies, Perceptual Dialectoloy, Language Regard, Lexical Variation, Sociophonetics.

Contact

yma11@yorku.ca

Cheryl Fretz

Cheryl Fretz

BA (University of Waterloo)
MA (OISE, University of Toronto)

Research interests: TESOL/TESL Teacher development and identity, teacher training, Second Language Instruction, narrative inquiry, use of technology in teacher development.

Contact

cfretz@yorku.ca

Seran Gee

Seran Gee

BA (University of Manitoba)
MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: HIV non-disclosure, Discourse Analysis, Linguistic Anthropology, Affect, Language and the Law.

Contact

sgee@yorku.ca

Lindsay Harding

Lindsay Harding

BA (Memorial University)
MA (University du Quebec)

Research interests: Variationist sociolinguistics, syntactic variation, second-language acquisition of French, language contact, language variation and change, Newfoundland Vernacular English, language and gender, and indexing of identity.

Contact

harding@yorku.ca

Snezhana Harizanova

Snezhana Harizanova

BA & MA (South-West University, Bulgaria)
MA (York University)

Research interests: second/foreign language teaching and learning; explicit and implicit teaching; conscious and non-conscious learning; art and cognition; play and cognition. Main research area: Suggestopedia and its applicability in EAP

Contact

snezh@yorku.ca

Nicole Hildebrand-Edgar

Nicole Hildebrand-Edgar

BA & MA (University of Victoria)

Research interests: Sociolinguistics; Language variation and change; Language, culture, and identity; Language ideologies; Discourse analysis; Language, gender, and sexuality; Pragmatics.

Contact

nhe@yorku.ca

Hiba Ibrahim

Hiba Ibrahim

BA (University of Jordan)
MA (University College London)

Research interests: Language, Culture and Identity; Telecollaboration 2.0 and Intercultural Communicative Competence (ICC) Development; Technology-mediated Language Learning; ICC in Foreign and Second Language Education; Education for ESL/ELL Refugee Learners.

Contact

hibaib87@yorku.ca

Ana-Maria Jerca

Ana-Maria Jerca

BA & BEd Gledon College (York University)
MA (York University)

Research interests: language and the law, language and gender, (critical) discourse analysis, pragmatics, semantics.

Contact

ana1993@my.yorku.ca

Kris Pierre Johnston

Kris Pierre Johnston

BFA (University of Victoria)
TESL Certificate (Centennial)
MA (York University)

Research interests: the Community of Inquiry framework (CoI), John Dewey’s democratic learning and experiential learning, Community of Practice (CoP), Sociocultural Theory (SCT), Constructivist approaches to pedagogy, Social Learning Theory (SLT), Complexity Theory, Second Language Acquisition (SLA), computer-assisted language learning (CALL), Technology-mediated Language Learning (and Teaching) (TMLL), (online) learning communities (as well as teaching and research communities), computer-mediated communication (CMC), user experience (UX) design, educational technology design and development, virtual reality (VR), artificial intelligence (AI) and augmented reality (AR) and their applications for online learning and teaching.

Contact

kpj@yorku.ca

Mandy Lau

Mandy Lau

BMus (University of Toronto)
Bed (Ontario Institute for Studies in Education - University of Toronto)
MEd (York University)

Research interests: English language assessment practices and policy, artificial intelligence and adaptive learning in computer-based learning environments, English as an additional language pedagogy (K-12, post-secondary), language policy implications for non-official language communities in Canada

Contact

laumandy@yorku.ca

Emilie LeBlanc

Emilie LeBlanc

BA (Saint Mary's University)
MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: Acadian French, Canadian French, code-switching, dialectology (urban), phonetics, phonology, sociolinguistics, language variation and change.

Contact

leblan92@yorku.ca

Alina Lemak

Alina Lemak

BSc & MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: second language acquisition and efficacy of instruction.

Contact

alinal@yorku.ca

Sean Meades

Sean Meades

BA (Dalhousie University)
MA (York University)

Research interests: Language ecology, shift, and revitalization; ethnography of communication; language policy and planning; language, gender, and sexuality; indigenous thought; anti-racism and decolonization; narrative and place; critical discourse analysis.

Contact

sbmeades@yorku.ca

Anda Amelia Neagu

Anda Amelia Neagu

BA (University of Bergamo)
MA (Ca' Foscari University of Venice)

Research interests: Theoretical Linguistics, Syntax, Syntax and its interfaces, Mood and Modality, Left Periphery, Balkan Sprachbund.

Contact

aneagu@yorku.ca

Brittney O'Neill

Brittney O'Neill

BA (University of Victoria)
MLIS (University College Dublin)

Research interests: Sociolinguistics; Language, Gender, and Sexuality; Verbal Hygiene; Discourse Analysis; Computer Mediated Communication; Usage-based Linguistics.

Contact

bkoneill@yorku.ca

Jacqueline Peters

Jacqueline Peters

BA (Concordia University)
MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: sociolinguistics; language and ethnicity; language and identity; linguistic ideologies; discourse analysis; sociology of language; ethnography of communication; inter-cultural communication. Specific language interests: Black Canadian English; African American English; Jamaican English and Jamaican Creole.

Contact

jepeters@yorku.ca

Kostia Pho

Kostia Pho

BA & MA (York University)

Research interests: psycholinguistics, bilingualism/multilingualism, bilingual/multilingual language processing, phonetics & phonology, tone languages, francophone studies

Contact

phokonst@my.yorku.ca

Sara Potkonjak

Sara Potkonjak

BA (York University)
MA (Carleton University)

Research interests: English for academic and specific purposes, language, culture and identity, discourse analysis, English as an international language, second language education.

Contact

sara21@yorku.ca

Ghulam Rasool

Ghulam Rasool

BA (University of Balochistan)
MA English (University of Balochistan)
MA TESOL (Michigan State University)

Research interests: language policy and planning; language identity and ideology; Multilingualism; Multiculturalism; culture and identity; second language (L2) writing; L2 writing assessment; English for Specific Purposes; L2 motivation; L2 Motivational Self System; Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL); Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL);

Contact

grasool@yorku.ca

Nate Shaftoe

Nate Shaftoe

BA (University of Toronto)
MA (York University)

Research interests: Phonology, Optimality Theory, historical linguistics, feature geometry, Harmonic Serialism.

Contact

shaftoen@yorku.ca

Katie Slemp

Katie Slemp

BA (Calvin University)
BSc (Calvin University)
MA (Western University)

Research interests: language variation and change; language, gender, and sexuality; Romance linguistics (particularly Spanish); dialectology; phonetics; morphophonology; sociolinguistics.

Contact
kslemp@yorku.ca

Martina Vassallo

Martina Vassallo

BA, TESOL Certificate, MA (York University)

Research Interests: English as a global language, language and migration, language and culture, language and identity, language loss, language policy and planning,  international English assessments, governmentality, language and citizenship, second language education, conceptual change.

Contact

vassallo@yorku.ca

Kendall Vogh

Kendall Vogh

BA & MA (Université Laval)

Research interests: Bilingualism/multilingualism, bilinguals' language use, code-switching, Canadian French, applied linguistics and applied sociolinguistics, usage-based linguistics, sociosemantics, science communication.

Contact

kvogh@yorku.ca

Dakota Wing

Dakota Wing

BA (University of Manitoba)
MA (Hofstra University)

Research Interests: Forensic linguistics, language and law, discourse analysis, corpus linguistics, (interactional) sociolinguistics, pragmatics, systemic functional linguistics.

Contact

dwing@yorku.ca

Christine Wiseman

Christine Wiseman

BA, TESOL Certificate & MA (York University)

Research interests: Participatory education; critical pedagogy; adult ESL education; empowerment in learning

Contact

cwiseman@yorku.ca

 

MA Students

Pamela Alexandria
pamelal@yorku.ca

Rajesh Bhandari
brajesh@yorku.ca

Burcu Boran
burcuu@yorku.ca

Rudi Bromberg-Barwin
rubarwin@yorku.ca

Sarah Campeau
scampeau@my.yorku.ca

Jean Chang
jnchang@yorku.ca

Majid Farham
mfarham@yorku.ca

Dylan Floody
dy127@yorku.ca

John Friel
frielj@yorku.ca

Bethany Ince
bince@yorku.ca

Gerard Kimmons
gkimmons@my.yorku.ca

Miguel King
miguelk@yorku.ca

Zoe Kourtis
kourtiza@yorku.ca

Duy (Jason) Le
led26@yorku.ca

Jiaying (Jane) Li
lijia97@yorku.ca

Tanvir Malik
tanvir20@yorku.ca

Susan Orchard
sorchard@yorku.ca

Michelle Phonthaphanh
phonthmn@yorku.ca

Yunus Sarkar
yunus167@yorku.ca

Chris Smrke
csmrke@yorku.ca

Sharmin Sultana
ssultana@yorku.ca

Saloni Tattar
stattar@yorku.ca

Yifei (Faye) Wang
summerda@yorku.ca

 

MA Returning Students

Tracey Cunningham
traceylc@yorku.ca