Current Students

PhD Students

Farhana Ruma Ahmed

Farhana Ruma Ahmed

BA & MA (University of Dhaka)
MA & TESL Cerfiticate (York University)

Research Interests: Issues of native/non-native speaker teachers/students in ESL/EFL setting, Second language acquisition (from theory to practice), Language, culture & identity, English as an international language, English for academic purposes.

Contact

far_med@yorku.ca

Mahmoud Alqazli

Mahmoud Alqazli

BA (Al Yarmouk University)
MA(University of Huddersfield)
MA (York University)

Research interests: Second/foreign language teaching and learning (TESL/TEFL),written genres and processes of L2 learners especially in health professions educations, English for specific purposes (ESP), Academic writing and Academic literacy, Occupation Specific Language Teaching/Training OSLT.

Contact

malqazli@yorku.ca

Wid Altalhi

Wid Altalhi

BA (King Abdulaziz University)
MA (University of Massachusetts Boston)

Research interests:  English as a foreign language (EFL); English for academic and specific purposes; language, culture, and identity; teachers’ identity; the role of teacher's beliefs in English learning classrooms; reflective teaching; teacher education.

Contact

altalhiw@yorku.ca

Medwin Azadi

Medwin Azadi

BA (Azad University of Tehran)
MA (Osmania University)

Research interests: (Variationist) (socio)linguistics, phon-etics/-ology, writing systems.
Current research focus: Vowel-height (and word-order) variation (in Tehran Persian).

Contact

medwin@yorku.ca

Sadia N. Banerjee

Sadia N. Banerjee

BA (Darul Ihsan University)
MA in ELT (University of Dhaka)
MA in TESL (University of British Columbia)

Research interests: Language policy and Planning in Post-colonial contexts, Identity and Language Teacher Education, Non-verbal Communication, English for Academic Purposes (EAP).

Contact

shraboni@yorku.ca

Laura Baxter

Laura Baxter

BA (McGill University)
MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: language variation and change, sociolinguistics, sociophonetics, dialectology, historical linguistics. Current research focuses on dialects of Canadian English.

Contact

baxter@yorku.ca
sites.google.com/site/laurabaxter

Gavin Bembridge

Gavin Bembridge

BA & MA (York University)

Research interests:  Distributed Morphology, Verbal Inflection (e.g. the subjunctive), Syntax and its interfaces (pragmatics/semantics), Mood and Modality, Romance (e.g. Spanish, Romanian)

Contact

gavin19@yorku.ca

William Cook

William Cook

BA (University of Victoria)
MA (York University)

Research interests: language policy and planning, governmentality, neoliberalism, speaker mobility and migrant worker communities, identity and culture in Arab Gulf States, language access and speaker legitimacy, narrative analysis.

Contact

wracook@yorku.ca

Shaima Dashti

Shaima Dashti

BA (Kuwait University)
MA (California State University-Dominguez Hills)

Research interests: language assessment, second language assessment, teachers' classroom assessment practices.

Contact

shaimamd@yorku.ca

Yvette Freake

Yvette Freake

BA (Memorial University of Newfoundland)
MA (York University)

Research Interests: Language attitudes, folk Linguistics, ethnolinguistics, sociophonetics.

Contact

yma11@yorku.ca

Seran Gee

Seran Gee

BA (University of Manitoba)
MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: HIV non-disclosure, Discourse Analysis, Linguistic Anthropology, Affect, Language and the Law.

Contact

sgee@yorku.ca

Lindsay Harding

Lindsay Harding

BA (Memorial University)
MA (University du Quebec)

Research interests: Variationist sociolinguistics, syntactic variation, second-language acquisition of French, language contact, language variation and change, Newfoundland Vernacular English, language and gender, and indexing of identity.

Contact

harding@yorku.ca

Snezhana Harizanova

Snezhana Harizanova

BA & MA (South-West University, Bulgaria)
MA (York University)

Research interests: second/foreign language teaching and learning; explicit and implicit teaching; conscious and non-conscious learning; art and cognition; play and cognition. Main research area: Suggestopedia and its applicability in EAP

Contact

snezhana@yorku.ca

Nicole Hildebrand-Edgar

Nicole Hildebrand-Edgar

BA & MA (University of Victoria)

Research interests: Sociolinguistics; Language variation and change; Language, culture, and identity; Language ideologies; Discourse analysis; Language, gender, and sexuality; Pragmatics.

Contact

nhe@yorku.ca

Bilingualism/multilingualism, bilinguals' language use, code-switching, Canadian French, applied linguistics and applied sociolinguistics, usage-based linguistics, sociosemantics, science communication

Ana-Maria Jerca

Ana-Maria Jerca

BA & BEd Gledon College (York University)
MA (York University)

Research interests: language and the law, language and gender, (critical) discourse analysis, pragmatics, semantics.

Contact

ana1993@my.yorku.ca

Kris Pierre Johnston

Kris Pierre Johnston

BFA (University of Victoria)
TESL Certificate (Centennial)
MA (York University)

Research interests:  the Community of Inquiry framework (CoI), John Dewey’s democratic learning and experiential learning, Community of Practice (CoP), Sociocultural Theory (SCT), Constructivist approaches to pedagogy, Social Learning Theory (SLT), Complexity Theory, Second Language Acquisition (SLA), computer-assisted language learning (CALL), Technology-mediated Language Learning (and Teaching) (TMLL), (online) learning communities (as well as teaching and research communities), computer-mediated communication (CMC), user experience (UX) design, educational technology design and development, virtual reality (VR), artificial intelligence (AI) and augmented reality (AR) and their applications for online learning and teaching.

Contact

kpj@yorku.ca

Emilie LeBlanc

Emilie LeBlanc

BA (Saint Mary's University)
MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: Acadian French, Canadian French, code-switching, dialectology (urban), phonetics, phonology, sociolinguistics, language variation and change.

Contact

leblan92@yorku.ca

Alina Lemak

Alina Lemak

BSc & MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: second language acquisition and efficacy of instruction.

Contact

alinal@yorku.ca

John McGaughey

John McGaughey

BA (University of Western Ontario)
MA (MacQuarie University)

Research interests: sociocultural theory/activity theory as applied to second/foreign language acquisition, teaching and learning; the role of the first language in second/foreign language education; bilingual/multilingual pedagogy; classroom based research focusing on classroom interaction; and computer-mediated language learning.

Contact

johnmc@yorku.ca

Sean Meades

Sean Meades

BA (Dalhousie University)
MA (York University)

Research interests: Language ecology, shift, and revitalization; ethnography of communication; language policy and planning; language, gender, and sexuality; indigenous thought; anti-racism and decolonization; narrative and place; critical discourse analysis.

Contact

sbmeades@yorku.ca

Jacqueline Peters

Jacqueline Peters

BA (Concordia University)
MA (University of Toronto)

Research interests: sociolinguistics; language and ethnicity; language and identity; linguistic ideologies; discourse analysis; sociology of language; ethnography of communication; inter-cultural communication. Specific language interests: Black Canadian English; African American English; Jamaican English and Jamaican Creole.

Contact

jepeters@yorku.ca

Sara Potkonjak

Sara Potkonjak

BA (York University)
MA (Carleton University)

Research interests: English for academic and specific purposes, language, culture and identity, discourse analysis, English as an international language, second language education.

Contact

sara21@yorku.ca

Sibley Slinkard

Sibley Slinkard

BA (George Mason University)
MA (Old Dominion University)

Research interests: Discourse Analysis, Critical Discourse Analysis, Narrative Analysis, Language, Gender and Sexuality, Language and Violence, Ethnography.

Contact

slinkard@yorku.ca

Vander Tavares

Vander Tavares

BA (Saint Mary's University)
TESL Certificate (Saint Mary's University)
MEd (York University)

Research interests:  ESL teaching and learning; language, culture and identity; ESL students' academic experiences (social, cultural, linguistic, educational and inter/intra-personal); ESL and non-ESL peer interaction; post-secondary education; linguistic anthropology; discourse analysis and literary criticism; teacher research; reflective teaching.

Contact

vander1@yorku.ca

Kendall Vogh

Kendall Vogh

BA & MA (Université Laval)

Research interests: Bilingualism/multilingualism, bilinguals' language use, code-switching, Canadian French, applied linguistics and applied sociolinguistics, usage-based linguistics, sociosemantics, science communication.

Contact

kvogh@yorku.ca

Christine Wiseman

Christine Wiseman

BA, TESOL Certificate & MA (York University)

Research interests: Participatory education; critical pedagogy; adult ESL education; empowerment in learning

Contact

cwiseman@yorku.ca

 

MA Students

 

Heba Al-Samarrie
heba82@yorku.ca

Alia AlSairafi
sairafi@yorku.ca

Areej Alattas
areej88@my.yorku.ca

Pankaj Bhattacharjee
pankajb@yorku.ca

Elisa Costantiello
elisa90@yorku.ca

Karen Cyrus
kyrus@yorku.ca

Elena De Gregorio
emd@yorku.ca

Maria Dzhasim
mariavd@yorku.ca

Rommy Ibanez
rommy5@yorku.ca

Lindsey Kasch
lkasch81@yorku.ca

Karen Low
klow73@yorku.ca

Stephanie Mak
stmak168@my.yorku.ca

Joanna Marshall
marshalj@yorku.ca

William Osmon
williamo@my.yorku.ca

Paul Saunders
ps06eg@yorku.ca

Sam Shalizar Jalali
shalizar@yorku.ca

Amy Stuart
apstuart@yorku.ca

Brenda Vander Zanden
brendavz@yorku.ca

 

MA Returning Students

 

Maryam Bahrami
maryam80@yorku.ca

Kristen Kern
kernk@my.yorku.ca

Sara Pearsell
spears@yorku.ca

Jovana Pokrajac
jovanap@yorku.ca

Deborah Surtees
deborah2@yorku.ca